Platinum Stars
16 T Kapini
05 P Mpangase
07 R Thebakang (Masenya 71′)
16 A Lobo
20 D Spencer
30 M Sambu
06 S Kgatla
12 S Mathe (Williams85′)
13 T Phala
20 L Ramolesa (Molangoane66′)
07 B Grobler



Competition: PSL
Date: 28 November 2010
Venue: Royal Bafokeng Stadium
Kick-off: 15:30pm

Platinum Stars were held to a 0-0 draw by Golden Arrows in an Absa Premiership encounter on Sunday.

Both sides had numerous chances, but failed to convert them into goals, and it was a case of missed opportunities at a scorching Royal Bafokeng Stadium.

Apart from a brief flurry from Stars towards the end of the half, it was the KZN side who had the better of the first stanza.

Siyabonga Nkosi was looking to dictate matters from midfield for Arrows, although his two early efforts, one from a free kick, were both off-target.

Stars had only header from Almiro Lobo to show for their early endeavours, which went straight to the keeper.

Kapini showed good reactions to get down at his near post to keep out a Njabulo Manqana effort, who had shown great skill to control the ball and cut into the box.

Possibly more used to the heat (a water-break was taken midway through the first half), the hosts ended the first stanza strongly.

But they could not capitalise as Phelalani Mpangase was denied scoring from a header as the ball struck one of his colleagues – Solomon Mathe finding himself in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Lebo Ramosela could also not add to his two goals this season as he fired over the bar from 10-yards when a goal seemed to be on the cards.

Arrows were extremely close to taking a 57th minute lead when Gabuza showed good technique to send a header goal-wards, but the ball struck not only the crossbar but also one of the uprights.

The remainder of the game was evenly balanced.

Abafana Bes’thende did look what appeared to be a good call for a penalty turned down 15 minutes from time when Kgatla took down man-of-the-match Nkosi.

As lightning and a wind storm gathered around the World Cup venue, Dikwena also survived another penalty appeal when Derrick Spencer was ruled not to have handled the ball in his own box.

Golden Arrows
01 H Da Rocha
04 M Mvalo
21 S Sangweni
21 S Zwane
28 M Bilankulu
05 P Shange (Zothwane 74′)
05 T Khuboni
10 S Nkosi
10 N Manqana (Mlotshwa 66′)
18 I Duiker
31 T Gabuza (Nzimande 76′)

Start typing and press Enter to search