Maritzburg Utd
Shu-Aib Walters
Peter Petersen
Rheece Evans
Byrone Hendricks
Mor Diouf
Felix Obada
Lawrence (Ncubeni 38′)
Kurt Lentjies;
Kulegani Madondo
Prince Olomu (Morton 55′)
Diyo Sibisi (Matle 84′)



Competition: PSL
Date: Sunday, 18 September 2011
Venue: Harry Gwala Stadium
Kick-off: 15:00pm

Lamontville Golden Arrows have succumbed to a 2-0 Absa Premiership loss to Maritzburg United in an entertaining KwaZulu-Natal Derby played at the Harry Gwala Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Goals in each half from Felix Obada and Kurt Lentjies sealed the victory for the home side and left Ernst Middendorp’s Abafana Bes’thende with nothing on a swelteringly hot day in the Midlands.

Jabulani Nene went close for Arrows early on, but it was the home side who took the lead on nine minutes when Peter Petersen’s long ball found Obada, who unleashed a stunning shot that left Virgil Vries with no chance.

Katlego Mashego almost responded immediately for the visitors with a rasping shot that was just wide of Shu-Aib Walters’ goal, with the keeper kept busy for the remainder of the half as Arrows produced the better football but found Walters in inspired form.

Mashego put another shot over the bar, before Maritzburg thought they had a penalty as Diyo Sibisi went down under the challenge of Vries, but the referee waved play-on.

Vroes then produced an excellent save to deny Obada in a one-on-one opportunity, while at the other end Collins Mbesuma was disposed just as he was about to pull the trigger and score.
The home got their insurance goal with 13 minutes remaining as Lentjies converted from a free-kick after Obada had been fouled by Musa Bilankulu.

It was game-over after that, with just Thamsanqa Gabuza having a final effort for the visitors, but he put his effort over the bar.

Golden Arrows next fixture is at home to Cape Town side Santos on Saturday, September 24.

Maritzburg United (1) 2 (Obada 9′, Lentjies 78′)
Lamontville Golden Arrows 0

Maritzburg: Shu-Aib Walters, Peter Petersen; Rheece Evans, Byrone Hendricks; Mor Diouf, Felix Obada, Sheldon Lawrence (Jabulani Ncubeni 38′), Kurt Lentjies; Kulegani Madondo, Prince Olomu (Michael Morton 55′), Diyo Sibisi (Wayne Matle 84′).

Arrows: Virgil Vries, Joseph Musonda, Mvizukile Tom, Musa Bilankulu, Robyn Johannes, Philani Shange, Katlego Mashego (Dillon Sheppard 77′), Thanduyise Khuboni, Jabulani Nene (Thamsanqa Gabuza 64;), Mxolisi Machuphu (Njabulo Manqana 46′), Collins Mbesuma.

Golden Arrows
Virgil Vries
Joseph Musonda
Mvizukile Tom
Musa Bilankulu
Robyn Johannes
Philani Shange
Mashego (Sheppard 77′)
Thanduyise Khuboni
Jabulani Nene (Gabuza 64)
Machuphu (Manqana 46′)
Collins Mbesuma

Start typing and press Enter to search