Golden Arrows
57 Bartman
18 Zwane
25 Nene
4 Musonda (c)
2 Tom
15 Shange (Mbewe 78’)
48 Bester
51 Moholo
21 Mngwengwe
58 Katongo
27 Ntuli (Twala 66’)



Competition: PSL
Date: Saturday ,29 March2014
Venue: King Zwelithini Stadium
Kick-off: 20:15pm

Lamontville Golden Arrows’ difficult run in the Absa Premiership continued on Saturday night when they were beaten 1-0 by BidVest Wits at the King Zwelithini Stadium on Saturday.

A lone goal from Sthembiso Ngcobo settled the fixture in the visitors’ favour and leaves Arrows with a difficult challenge in the remaining weeks of the season to maintain their top-flight status.

Co-coaches Shaun Bartlett and Bheka Phakathi selected an attacking starting line-up that included forwards Bongi Ntuli, Chris Katongo and Rudolf Bester, and it almost paid dividends.

Katongo had an excellence chance to put his side in front early on, but his effort was saved by the boots of Moeneeb Josephs in the Wits goal.

But it was Wits who got the goal on 13 minutes, Sibusiso Vilakazi put Ngcobo clear and the former Kaizer Chiefs striker blasted the ball past Arthur Bartman.

Arrows were not dispirited though as Jabulani Nene’s deflected shot was brilliantly saved by Josephs, who then makes a stunning save from a free-kick. Bester could not turn home the rebound.

Katongo had a good headed chance that was straight at Josephs, while at the other end, Ngcobo almost had his second when he was put clear again in a carbon copy of the goal he scored in the first half, but this time Bartman got a touch to the shot and pushed the ball onto the crossbar and away for safety.

Next up for Golden Arrows is an away meeting with Kaizer Chiefs on Wednesday.

Lamontville Golden Arrows 0
BidVest wits (1) 1 (Ngcobo 13’)

Arrows: Bartman, S Zwane, Nene, Musonda, Tom, Shange (Mbewe 78’), Bester, Moholo, Mngwengwe, Katongo, Ntuli, (Twala 66’).

Wits: Josephs, Bhasera, Mngonyama, Gumede, Booth, Langwe (Chapman 79’), Vilakazi, Faty, Nhlapo, Madubanya (Isaacs 69’), Ngcobo (Gibeto 90’).

Bidvest Wits
16 Josephs
24 Bhasera
29 Mngonyama
4 Gumede
5 Booth
7 Langwe (Chapman 79’)
10 Vilakazi (c)
17 Faty
20 Nhlapo
34 Madubanya (Isaacs 69’)
19 Ngcobo (Gibeto 90’)

Start typing and press Enter to search