Golden Arrows
44 P Zikalala
21 N Mngwengwe
20 T Mathiane
28 T Sikhakhane
14 S Dube
17 N Cele
05 G Shitolo
06 R Ramagalela
41 A Fikizolo (Chapman 60′)
40 M Khenyeza(Musonda 61(Manaka 92′))
07 D Hotto


Khenyeza (7′)(pen)
Chapman (70′)


Competition: PSL
Date: Saturday ,12 September 2015
Venue: Chatsworth Stadium
Kick-off: 15:00pm

Lamontville Golden Arrows have defeated Mamelodi Sundown 2-1 at Chatsworth this afternoon.

It was an action packed first half clash with both teams bringing the game on. Both sides came firing at each other and getting physical on the field, with 5 yellow cards and a red being dished out by the referee in the first 45 minutes.

Abafana Bes’thende made their breakthrough after Khenyeza was fouled in the box in the 7th minute by Onyango. Khenyeza placed the ball, took the shot and slotted it into the right hand corner of the net to take the team to a goal lead for the half.

The visitors were reduced to 10 players in the 18th minute after Bongani Zungu was given his marching orders for repeat offenses.

Golden Arrows kept pressure continually and hammered the Sundowns defence getting into the box a number of times with 6 shots at goal, 2 on target.

Mamelodi Sundowns never sat back and took the counter attacks when they could, getting 9 shots in the half, with only 1 being on target. But they never managed to find the equaliser before the ref blew for the half time break.

The sides returned to the field and Mamelodi Sundowns made a big statement by scoring an equaliser off the boot of replacement player T.Zwane.

The team seemed a bit shaken by the equaliser but managed to gain composure and consolidate themselves to continue the pressure on the visiting team.

The winning goal came for the team in the 70th minute after substitute Ryan Chapman fired a shot in after a brilliant assist from N.Cele.

This sealed the game for the team who dominated the play in the first half, and kept the pressure on Mamelodi Sundowns in the second.

They play again on the 23rd September against Black Aces at King Zwelethini Stadium

Mamelodi Sundowns
36 D Onyango
21 S Zwane
04 T Langerman
29 S Bangaly
16 R Mphahlele
07 K Dolly
10 T Modise
34 B Zungu
08 H Kekana
27 C Malajila
20 K Billiat

Start typing and press Enter to search