Cape Town City
01 S Walters
06 E Seedat
16 R Johannes
27 T Gumede
02 T Mkhize
19 R Putsche (Nodada  61′)
21 T Mokeke
11 A Ngoma
10 B Jayiya (Moseamedi 70′)
08 L Manyama
45 L Majoro (Koapeng 79′)
Cape Town City



Competition: PSL
Date: Wednesday, 17 May 2017
Venue: Athlone Stadium
Kick-off: 19h30

Cape Town City clinched a last minute goal to win tonights clash at Athlone Stadium in a well fought contest from the team.

The first half was an eventless one for both sides as neither succeeded in converting the chances they created. We dominated slightly on the field and managed to create more chances, but shots from Mahachi, Mutizwa and Magubane were just not on target. This meant going into the break in a goalless deadlock with the home side.

The return from the break saw pretty much the same play. Cape Town City came onto the field and were into our half straight away but the end to end battle failed to produce any goals from either side. Both sides tried changing up the [ace of the game, with us bringing Sibiya, Fikizolo and Lamola on, while City swapped in Moseamedi, Koapeng and Nodada. Both strikers managed some shots at goal, but the finishing was just not there for either side.

Cape Town City missed an opportunity to wrap the game up in the 85th minute after Manyama was fouled in the box and they were awarded a penalty. Manyame himself took the shot, but hit the woodwork in his effort.

A last minute deflection off Bilankulu from a shot from Ngoma, however secured the win for the Mother City side just seconds before the referee blew the whistle of the game.

The team had a great performance tonight, going head to head with City for the full game. We may have lost but we are proud of an outstanding performance tonight. The goal is still a top 8 finish and it is still possible. We just have to win our last game of the season

We will return to the field in our last game of the PSL League and aim at a strong win against Orlando Pirates on the 27th May at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

We would like to take the opportunity to congratulate Bidvest Wits on winning the PSL title for the 2016/17 season!

Golden Arrows
32 N Gumede
20 M Mathiane
05 L Mzava
38 R Dlamini
26 D Phiri
13 N Mthiyane
27 S Magubane (Lamola 59′)
11 K Mahachi
28 M Bilankulu
17 W Jooste (Fikizolo 68′)
19 K Mutizwa (Sibiya 79′)
Lamontville Golden Arrows

Start typing and press Enter to search