Bloemfontein Celtic
30 P Tignyemb
27 A Ndengane
3 M Dube
22 M Rikhotso
19 S Mxoyana ( Zuma 67)
5 W Letlabika
11 D Hotto( Masuku 45)
4 M Nyatama
7 L Lakay(Masana 81)
12 K Mahlasela
14 F Razak


Alfred Ndengane (49)


Nkanyiso Mngwengwe (59)
Wayde Jooste (76)

Competition: PSL
Date: Sunday, 25 September 2016
Venue: Molemela Stadium
Kick-off: 15:00pm

In what looked as if it would be another draw between Abafana Bes’thende and Bloemfontein Celtic this afternoon after the first 45 minutes, Our boys rallied together and came away with a second win on the road in their PSL campaign.

Both teams played a static first 45 minutes and there was only a convincing shot on goal for each after Ndengane fired a shot in after a cross for Celtic and Phiri blasted one at Tignyemb which he just managed to punch over the bar. It seemed as thought the game would be another draw for the two teams. This changed in the 49th minute though as a shot from Ndengane defelcted off Bilankulu and found the back of the net after Mbaeva was already diving for where the shot was aimed.

This gave the home team the lead for 10 minutes until some enterprising play from Jooste saw Arrows play up into the last 3rd and force the corner. Jooste took the kick, played it to the near post and Mngwengwe was posied waiting and headed the ball in for the equaliser.

The tempo of the game changed and Abafana Bes’thende headed up some good attacking plays on the home side. Celtic were not taking it lying down though and launched counter after counter, looking to take the lead again in front of their home crowd.

Lerato Lamola had a fantastic assist though that saw Jooste waiting in the box where he finished off the movement with a right footed shot to push the ball into the goals to give Abafana Bes’thende the lead. They managed to hold on until full time to secure their second away win on the trot and another 3 points in their 2016/17 PSL campaign.

The team will now head back to Durban and have no rest as they face Supersport United in a mid week game at Princess Magogo Stadium on Wednesday night that kicks off at 19h30.

Golden Arrows
1 M Mbaeva
18 L Nonyane
14 S Dube
5 L Mzava
21 N Mngwengwe
26 D Phiri
28 M Bilankulu
12 V Ntanga (Magubane 55)
25 N Sibiya (Miheso 54)
17 W Jooste
41 L Lamola (Cele 78)

Start typing and press Enter to search