Golden Arrows
32 N Gumede
36 T Sikhakhane
2 M Tom
35 S Sithole
28 M Bilankulu (Ntuli 85′)
37 T Liphoko
5 T Khuboni
25 J Nene
31 T Gabuza (Shange 56′)
9 N Smith
41 L Nguzana (Bovu 66′)



Competition: PSL
Date: Saturday, 06 April 2013
Venue: Moses Mabhida Stadium
Kick-off: 15:00pm

Lamontville Golden Arrows have been held to a 0-0 draw by the 10 men of Kaizer Chiefs in their Absa Premiership encounter at the Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Abafana Bes’thende were good value for their point and might have had more in a match in which they caused the league leaders plenty of scares.

Reneilwe Letsholonyane was shown a red card just after the half-hour mark for a rash challenge on Tshepo Liphoko, leaving Chiefs to play the remainder of the match a man down.

The incident sparked one fan to enter the playing area and attempt to assault referee Lwandile Mfiki, which will be a major talking point after the game but should not detract from what was a wonderful match.

Coach Manqoba Mngqithi restored Thamsanqa Gabuza to the starting line-up from the side that defeated Chippa United in Cape Town in midweek.

Jabulani Nene went close for Arrows early on when he curled a free-kick wide, while Siyabonga Nkosi blasted straight at Nkosi Gumede in the home goal.

Chiefs striker Lehlohonolo Majoro had the ball in the back of the net, but his effort was correctly ruled out for offside.

In a frantic beginning, Liphoko did well to beat his marker and force Itumeleng Khune into an excellent save in the Chiefs goal.

Norman Smith showed good skills to get past three defenders before his effort was deflected wide.

Arrows were on top in the opening period, but Chiefs came back strongly after halftime and despite being a man down.

Golden Arrows next match is an away trip to Maritzburg United in the league on April 17.

Lamontvillle Golden Arrows 0
Kaizer Chiefs 0

Arrows: Gumede, Sikhakhane, Tom, Sithole, Bilankulu (Ntuli 85’), Liphoko, Khuboni, Nene, Gabuza (Shange 60′), Smith, Nguzana (Bovu 66′)

Chiefs: Khune, Gaxa, Gould (Zvasiya 46′), Mashamaite, Masilela, Letsholonyane, Nkosi (Dladla 80′), Tshabalala, Lebese (Baloyi 46′), Majoro, Parker

Kaizer Chiefs
32 I Khune
5 S Gaxa
83 M Gould (Zvasiya45′)
4 J Mashamaite
24 T Masilela
6 R Letsholonyane
10 S Nkosi (Dladla 81′)
14 S Tshabalala
17 G Lebese (Baloyi 45′)
20 L Majoro
25 B Parker

Start typing and press Enter to search